It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 4:25 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: power supply query
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 3:07 pm 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Master of Acrylic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:07 pm
Posts: 1246
can i connect any wattage power supply to my motherboard? cant find any info on my board on the net...

it is a RC415ST-HM. Currently it has a 300w (i think) supply in it.

the reason i want to upgrade it is to put a beefier graphics card in it.

I know usually it is a matter if it will fit or not, but i will be unboxing the pc to put into a cab.

_________________
When I was young i wanted to be an astronaut ... ended up a space cadet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power supply query
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2013 11:54 pm 
Offline
Founding Board member | Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:39 pm
Posts: 1522
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Should be fine Heath.

Higher wattage only means it will handle more load, nothing more.

Volts and amps are the things you should look out for and should be the same as your older power supply anyway.

_________________
Life is a waste of time and time is a waste of life, so waste your time and have the time of your life!

Sisterhood Forever!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power supply query
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 9:51 am 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 2339
Location: The 80s baby!
What he said.

As long as the main connector (20 or 24 pin connector) is the same you'll be fine.

_________________

"If I can't build a time machine then I'll build machines from back in time." - Me

A.W.R.T.G.U.M.A Sisterhood
Founding Member


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power supply query
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 11:29 am 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Master of Acrylic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:07 pm
Posts: 1246
so i should ignore the "dont exceed the wattage when replacing power supply" on the motherboard spec web page?

cheers

_________________
When I was young i wanted to be an astronaut ... ended up a space cadet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power supply query
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 3:26 pm 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 2339
Location: The 80s baby!
heathwithnoteeth wrote:
so i should ignore the "dont exceed the wattage when replacing power supply" on the motherboard spec web page?

cheers


Got a linky?

_________________

"If I can't build a time machine then I'll build machines from back in time." - Me

A.W.R.T.G.U.M.A Sisterhood
Founding Member


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power supply query
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Master of Acrylic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:07 pm
Posts: 1246
http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/docu ... ct=3328522

_________________
When I was young i wanted to be an astronaut ... ended up a space cadet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power supply query
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2013 10:52 pm 
Offline
Founding Board member | Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:39 pm
Posts: 1522
Location: Melbourne, Australia
heathwithnoteeth wrote:
so i should ignore the "dont exceed the wattage when replacing power supply" on the motherboard spec web page?

cheers


My first instinct says it's bullshit but I'm asking myself why this would even be mentioned as a caution on HP's link... :?

The quote below contradicts the cautions they made earlier on the same page.

I've never heard of someone blowing something up from increasing wattage on a PSU and bet my bottom dollar it's an HP scare campaign to sell more of their products instead.


Quote:
NOTE: You can subtract the power consumption rating for devices that will be removed when upgrading. However, it is better to have a higher wattage number in the event future upgrades are needed.

4.
Purchase and install a power supply that has the same or better wattage rating than the total.

For example, when installing a new video card that has a power consumption rating of 230W, and the original power supply was 250W, you can install a power supply that is 480W or greater

_________________
Life is a waste of time and time is a waste of life, so waste your time and have the time of your life!

Sisterhood Forever!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: power supply query
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2013 9:15 am 
Offline
Founding Board Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 5:42 pm
Posts: 505
heathwithnoteeth wrote:
so i should ignore the "dont exceed the wattage when replacing power supply" on the motherboard spec web page?

cheers


I'd actually read that the other way. (although i would never write it that way)

Ie, from the motherboard point of view.

The wattage is simply what the power supply can supply.
The motherboard will take only what it needs.

So if the motherboard needs actually 'exceeds the wattage on the replacement power supply' then you will have an issue.

AFAIK, the voltage the power supply supplies is always the same, 12v and 5v....and they always come from your 240v. So the better power supplies with the higher wattage means its all about the current it can give off. Circuit boards drain as much current as they need and no more.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Skin by Lucas Kane
Localized by MaĆ«l Soucaze © 2010 phpBB.fr