It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 7:58 pm

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 2:12 am 
Offline
AWRTGUMA Devotee
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:46 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Perth
Well I originally had planned on using an old Gateway PC that I bought that had a button on the front to turn it on funnily enough... checked behind the button and it was just a little microswitch and two wires, so really easy to cut the wires, extend the wires to the CP and a button there. I even purchased the LED button with the little Power symbol on it. Trouble is I then purchased a Dell PC to run the cabinet recently and after much effort and problems (including accidentally ripping the heatsink off the CPU!! Dont ask!!) I found the button on the front of the Dell actually goes directly onto a PCB board of some sort.

So I was wondering is anyone here knew if it was possible to fire this Dell (Optiplex 745) up via a button on the CP and what would be involved if it was???


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 11:15 am 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 2339
Location: The 80s baby!
Geez looking at the Dell stuff I could find it looks like they're really trying to make life as difficult as possible! It seems all the connections need to be connected or there'll be an error code or some such BS.

Can you locate the wires coming directly from the switch that is conencted to the power button? If so can you extend those to your new button?

I've searched high and low for a pinout diagram for the front panel but no luck as yet.

Damn Dell and all other manufacturers that use proprietary setups! :evil:

_________________

"If I can't build a time machine then I'll build machines from back in time." - Me

A.W.R.T.G.U.M.A Sisterhood
Founding Member


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 1:29 pm 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Master of Acrylic
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:07 pm
Posts: 1246
im gonna have the same drama with my optiplex 520gx that i am using for the cab... bloody dell and there gay in the bum error messages. when i boot mine up i get a incompatible processor message, bull crapola, then i have to hit f1 and it boots fine... :x

_________________
When I was young i wanted to be an astronaut ... ended up a space cadet


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:29 pm 
Offline
AWRTGUMA Devotee

Joined: Fri May 20, 2011 2:49 pm
Posts: 193
Yah, I have a bunch of old GX620's in various states of repair that I was going to play with. I read online that Dell hasn't released any pinout wiring details for their front panels. BUT I did find a couple of diagrams.... but for older GX270 and similar series. So no idea if they will work....

Damn Dell :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 5:38 pm 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 2339
Location: The 80s baby!
Bloody poofters.

_________________

"If I can't build a time machine then I'll build machines from back in time." - Me

A.W.R.T.G.U.M.A Sisterhood
Founding Member


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 8:19 pm 
Offline
Founding Board member | Mod
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 6:39 pm
Posts: 1522
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Big Giant Head wrote:
Bloody poofters.


Not sure who was playing who but seems Dell and HP have been fucking each other up the ass for some time, screwing the consumer once again like being trapped in a jail cell and gang raped by 10 black dudes.

_________________
Life is a waste of time and time is a waste of life, so waste your time and have the time of your life!

Sisterhood Forever!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 9:29 pm 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 2339
Location: The 80s baby!
Soda-Pop wrote:
Big Giant Head wrote:
Bloody poofters.


Not sure who was playing who but seems Dell and HP have been fucking each other up the ass for some time, screwing the consumer once again like being trapped in a jail cell and gang raped by 10 black dudes.


And loving it!

Image

_________________

"If I can't build a time machine then I'll build machines from back in time." - Me

A.W.R.T.G.U.M.A Sisterhood
Founding Member


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Thu Aug 04, 2011 10:18 pm 
Offline
AWRTGUMA Devotee
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 5:46 pm
Posts: 103
Location: Perth
Hmmm..

Front what I could tell after getting what I could appart it was a physically switch mounted on a PCB board.. the front switch is actually all plastic and has the little clear/led channels in them to give them the coloured backlighting for the status, normally green, but will flash yellow I think when problems or whatever.

Sounds like not much I can do... I am thinking of not dual wiring the "power" button to P1 Start and getting people to use that to choose the game in MALA... so effectively a game "start" button. I will have to have the PC on all the time, or just open the back door to first fire up the PC. :(

Thanks for the input though guys.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 10:31 am 
Offline
Founding Board Member
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 7:58 pm
Posts: 1077
Location: The dark side of Australia....LOL
You could mount the pc near the side of the cab and have a button on that side with a bit of dowel glued to the back, so when you press it, it presses the Dells button....if that makes sense.

_________________
Founding Member

11 Cheers for Binary!!!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Button to turn PC on from CP
PostPosted: Fri Aug 05, 2011 11:12 am 
Offline
Founding Board Member | Admin
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 25, 2010 4:04 pm
Posts: 2339
Location: The 80s baby!
MacGuyver it FTW!

_________________

"If I can't build a time machine then I'll build machines from back in time." - Me

A.W.R.T.G.U.M.A Sisterhood
Founding Member


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 30 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC + 10 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Skin by Lucas Kane
Localized by Maël Soucaze © 2010 phpBB.fr